Song: Temples – ‘Colours to Life’

  Since I witnessed Templesfirst proper performance last summer I’ve been avid that the band was destined to be huge. Their first collection of demos boasted an unrivalled quality of production brimming with the flavours of the psychedelic ‘60s, recalling the likes of The Byrds in particular with the aerated tones of their 12-string guitars. Recent live performances showcasing new material has only affirmed the belief that these guys are in possession of the best revivalist sound since The Horrors released a classic shoegaze album almost 20 years after the genre’s peak. But at the same time, I’ve had a niggling problem with Temples that grows more and more every time I lay my eyes upon them.

Image

  James Bagshaw never changes his clothes.

  He’s been wearing those same fucking sparkly tops (he has them in black and red) and that fur-lined jacket since the first time I saw the band, and at every gig I’ve been to since, and this video suggests that he has no intention of expanding his wardrobe any time soon. Just because the footage is in black and white doesn’t mean I can’t tell! It was a pretty cool image the first time I saw you but it’s getting a bit tired now, man. And you never smile either, you just pose and look a bit moody all the time. It’s really beginning to try my patience, bro.

  That said, ‘Colours to Life’ proves once again that Temples have got nothing but gold to deliver. It’s another fantastic track and I can assuredly say from recent live performances that they’ve got loads more on the way. And it’s not just a string of singles either – they’ve got an arsenal of variety under that rich musical umbrella of psychedelia. Their album might even be a record-of-the-year. They only continue to impress me, but I just wish they’d stop posing and chill out, man.

‘Colours To Life’ will be released through Heavenly Recordings on Monday June 24th 2013.